Blogger Recognition Award

I received a surprise post with one of these from Ren of Broken Down Body (how lovely!! And thank you so much!). It’s lovely when other bloggers make a point of telling you they like your writing (& a tiny bit affirming as so many of us blog in place of verbalising!).

I love reading her blog as it’s a different view of Ehlers Danlos Syndrome which we share and she handles things with far more grace than I do!

Anyway, the idea of this is to write a blog in which you follow

The Rules

1. Thank the blogger who nominated you.

2. Write a post and display the award.

3. Share in your post a brief history of how your blog started.

4. Give advice to new bloggers.

5. Nominate other bloggers you feel deserve the award.

6. Let each blogger know that you have nominated them.

So, without further adieu here it is:

1. Done. (See above)

2. I rather think the is it… (see image above)

3. How my blog started:

I’ll admit, I had to scroll back a while to find out where all this started in early 2013, but apparently I arrived on this blog with a bang, or rather a mooncup. I’d written a very personal blog before, but decided on the grounds of mental health I would remove my previous blog and start this one. Initially it was a bunch of random topics about being an insufferable geek, mother, and teacher. Looking back, it was clear where it would end up with my physical health & mobility rapidly declining throughout the lifetime of my blog. In its current evolution  (this is not it’s final form), I blog about teaching, Ehlers Danlos Syndrome, disability, and accessibility.

4. So …dear new blogger, 

Expect some weird comments. You can’t control who reads your blog so be careful posting too many personal details. Don’t use people’s real names (but people will get to know who ‘they’ are).

Most importantly, don’t ever read the search terms & if you get a troll, screen capture them and blog a response. You’ll find 95% of the blogger community will get right behind you.

5 & 6. Nominating other people is hard because there are so many amazing blogs out there. Instead I’ve nominated those people who have made a real impact on my life.

Mom Goes On – I feel like we’ve been blogging alongside each other forever & she always leaves such lovely comments for me. Thank you xx 

JBOT | Adaptive Disability Lifestylewas the blog I turned to when Ehlers Danlos really started to kick my arse. Her written advice kept me sane in the wee hours (and she’s lovely on Twitter too). I genuinely wish she was my OT.

Sarah in Wonderland is another person having fun with EDS… but in style. I actually met her on Twitter & she is always there for my 2am outbursts! She’s also convinced me to keep trying to look human despite major pain.

Vicky at Around & Upside down is another Twitter friend  (are you getting a pattern here?) who has seen me through a few difficult nights. Eventually we’ll write that chronic illness ahem ‘book’ together!

Sarah from Bloo n Stuff because she’s outspoken & insufferabley chirpy! And has very good hair.

Also, an honourable mention for Polishing Dookie because her shit is funny.
So, there you have it. One award & paying the love forward to these wonderful people. Mwah xxx

4 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Yaaaay! I really do adore your blog. Oddly enough I was just about to order a DivaCup now I’m getting actual periods again. What a coincidence?! I second that Kara’s shit is funny, like… her actual bowel movements make me giggle.
    R x

    Like

  2. Pingback: Blogger Recognition Award | my Ehlers-Danlos Journey

Tell me what you think...

