Check out my Glossybox

Hehe. Sorry, that made me giggle. Not sorry.

A package arrived in the post today. It all started a week or so ago when I was laying in bed doing the pain party conga & feeling about as girly and sexy as a slug. A dehydrated slug.

So I succumbed to the glossy adverts for Glossybox and set up a monthly order for my box of secret girly stuff to be delivered directly to me. At £13 per month, I figured if the first one was awful, it was a one off and I’d cancel it.

Glossybox unopened box for July

Beanpole and I were impressed when we opened the outer package as we were expecting a cheapy type gift bag. Instead there was a nice cardboard box that was totally usable for storing little trinkets in…

Even opened, there was tissue paper with a cute little ribbon around it! (Can you hear my self control flying into the ether?).

Then the probably more important part of the box (probably – we were having great fun getting excited about pretty parcels tbh) which started with a greeting card & a recipe idea for spiralized courgette spaghetti.

Inside was a little (25ml) tube of Utan night cream which contains a gradual self tanning element. As a regular user of Olay’s self tanning day cream in an attempt to hide my unsightly pale complexion & suitcases under my eyes (we’re  way beyond bags with the lack of sleep I get), this sounded quite exciting. 

RRP £12.50 

Would I have indulged in this? Probably not tbh, it’s quite pricey for the size so this is a good way for me to try out a brand I’ve not heard of. This is a potential birthday list product though.

Next up, an F20 Flat Brush from Blank Canvas. I actually had to check that this was synthetic fibre as it’s so soft. I’ve not bought a big make up brush since I splashed out on Bare Minerals & my original brush is still used for everything from powder to my haphazard attempts at contours. It has a nice chunky handle which doesn’t taper off making it easy for me hands to hold even on really crappy days. I’ve been meaning to get another brush for a while, so yay!

RRP: £11.95

Would I have indulged in this? I think so. I would have ummed & ahhhed over the price, but I think it would have won me over.

Next is the Hairon detangle brush. Now, we’ve bought a detangle brush before for the kids and these things are bloodhound awesome. I spend the majority of my time with my hair wrapped in scarves to protect it from breaking any further (after several months of mega vitamin D tablets, the areas that fell out at the start of the year are growing back, but it still breaks easily if I let it tangle or get dry). This one is the perfect size & shape to fit into my hand without causing extra stress on my wrist. This means I can tidy the front all by myself! (I still can’t get to the back without pulling out a joint, but small victories!)

RRP : £6.99

Would I have indulged in this? Clearly I would having already bought one! It’s quite expensive for a small plastic brush, but totally worth it for small screechy people.

Next is Emotion Allowed mascara from Icona Milano. It’s a proper, full sized mascara – not a tester size in sight. It’s waterproof, so perfect for impending holiday & also for current super high pollen days where my eyes are itchy and watery which equals smudgy panda eyes.

The brush is curved & the mascara isn’t too heavy, but doesn’t clump too badly so you can make it heavier if you want. However, it’s light enough for Beanpole to wear it as she tries out how make up feels and still look tasteful.

RRP : £13.04

Would I have indulged in this? It’s not a brand I’ve heard of before, so it’s nice to be persuaded to try something new. It’s a little more than I would usually spend, but it’s nice so I could be persuaded.

And finally  (yep, still going!), anti-perspirant from Soft&Gentle… err sorry, what? Deodorant? Actually, yes. Again, full sized but with a twist. It’s a hair minimising anti-perspirant. Apparently clinically proven to reduce the thickness & growth speed of hair in 8 weeks.

It’s worth a shot & it smells really nice… I wonder if they do whole body spray?

RRP: 2.99

Would I have indulged in this? Tbh, no. This is the kind of thing that I’d usually look at, chuckle and move onto the trusty razors that maintain my body topiary. 

So, was the box worth it? At a RRP of £47.47 compared to my £13 for the box, then Glossybox wins hands down. But what about actually wanting the products? Well, aside from being a bit dubious about the hair reducing deodorant, I’m really rather chuffed with my little gift box and it’s absolutely convinced me to hold out for August’s box of goodies which is a special 5th birthday box.

Where did I sign up? This link takes you to their sign up page

More ways to be Chronically Optimistic 😆

3 thoughts on “Check out my Glossybox

  1. Pingback: My September 2016 Glossybox! All that glitters | The Hippy Geek

Tell me what you think...

