Life In A Cage

I had a bit of a strop today. Not uncalled for, but stressing over something I can’t do a great deal about with immediate effect.

Yesterday, the plan had been to grab the bikes and head out for the day. Mr Geek decided that buying the new roof rack for the bikes was on the cards as the old one takes an age to put on & isn’t entirely stable. He would only be an hour getting that and lunch, so I supervised the kids getting their swimming stuff together & cracked on with the last of my marking. An hour later he returned triumphant & we had lunch… then waited. After 2 hours, I was going stir crazy. The kids had returned to their room or were whizzing around the garden on their bikes. And I paced between the kitchen & conservatory like a caged animal.

image

Why? Because having busted a gut getting us all ready, I have to wait for Mr Geek before I can leave the house. I can’t get out the back door at all & the front door requires an able bodied person to put down our portable ramps. So I’m stuck. In the end I slouched on the sofa & read my book, then had a nap as I’d worn myself out being pissed off at not being able to reach the good weather aside from leaning precariously out of the door to just breathe in the air. I’ve tasted a bit of freedom now & I’m not keen to go back inside my box.

image

Today took a similar turn, with me being perfectly happy to visit with in laws (I really enjoy their company – how many people get to say that eh?), but plan A was scrapped so we came up with plan B of visiting, then some family outside time to de-stress everyone. Having explained that Beanpole was stressing about the looming SATS that start tomorrow & I’m stressing about expectations to make the kids revise; This combined with explaining that sitting still in my chair is causing thunderous pain, but propelling allows me to engage my muscles and fight it off for a bit. So we gathered bits from the shop on the way over & sat still in the sun for over 2 1/2 hours. The net result of this was no time for family outside time as I couldn’t pluck an accessible alternative out of thin air, a bastard of a backache, and bright red shoulders (guess who can’t feel the burn over the nerve pain. Silver linings…). Eventually, instead of brooding I said something. What was heard was “I’m angry because I didn’t do what I wanted today”. I didn’t explain it properly & I apologised for being grumpy. Then took that feeling, screwed it up tightly and shoved it in a mental box. Except that box is full & wont close so I wrote a blog about it to remove it all from my head & keep it sealed up tight. I’m angry because my voice wasn’t heard, I’m angry because I have no physical freedom & feel like I have to doff my cap because otherwise I’m fucked.

image

That in itself makes me feel even more trapped. In that way it’s a double whammy because not only do I have to wait until someone else is ready to help me, I have to be constantly grateful and keep my temper. Most normal adults have the option of walking away to cool off, or frankly, walking. How exactly am I meant to do that when I reach the front door & face the prospect of faceplanting if even attempt to get my wheels over the threshold?!

image

So here I am, working through it all in my head and realising that I’m not actually angry with Mr Geek; I’m living for the weekends when life is about my important people & when I spend most of that time waiting for them to want to engage with me, I feel hurt. They are my important people. I came second to Pintrest & a bike rack (TinyPants, in her defense, recognised the caged animal thing & read me Grimms fairytales even though she proclaims to hate reading, but she knows I love to hear her read). I’m reacting like anything that once roamed & now has a cage put around them – I’m on constant fight or flight on the off chance that I see an escape. This combined with pain means no sleep. No sleep means bad temper & more pain. And so it continues.
I’m resentful that I now have to sit in that bastard bloody powerchair and crush my spine & pelvis for another week to smile & cajole like a tortured CBeebies presenter, kids who now outrightly ask why I can’t just do their coursework for them, or threaten to bring parents in when I don’t grade them high enough (I do love my job – this half term is always particularly tough. This year moreso than others). However, I’d rather be there to collect my stressed out offspring & feed her ice-cream until she forgets about the exams.

image

As with most things, I don’t just offer problems, I find solutions, and here’s my first offering: A customised Google Map for those of us who need a bit more info on places we could achievably get to or get around. I’ve started adding the places we’re visiting & maybe you’d like to contribute? As a crowdsource, we could create an awesome free resource! Just drop me a twitter message @WorthingWeb with your email or leave me a message below.

My Accessible Google Map

The next has got to be rampage. As in ramps, not going on a rampage. Without access to anything outside the house without help, a rampage is going to be quite ineffectual. But if I continue to feel trapped inside the house, there’s going to be an issue. More than just me grinding my teeth at night and sleeping even less than usual. Either I’ll get pissed off and start making my own solutions like bum shuffling over the threshold then dragging the chair after me, or I will mount a protest by refusing to go inside. The latter is pretty much what my old cat did. The fact that I’m considering taking protest cues from a deranged and not mildly psychopathic ball of fur, teeth, & claws ought to be saying something.

I’m asked a lot at various appointments about my physical symptoms & Mr Geek is more often than not asked how he’s coping. Only very occasionally do professionals ask with any actual interest how my head is. God forbid, I might tell someone the truth one day and tell them that I was a real tiger once, but now I just pace back and forth between the corners of my strange cages.

image

6 thoughts on “Life In A Cage

  1. While I can’t completely relate to your woes, I can sympathize. Going from fierce and independent to having to keep calm and reliant isn’t an easy transition and I don’t think many people understand the mental toll it takes on someone. I do hope this next week passes quickly for you with as little stress as possible (I know that’s asking a lot!) and that next weekends plans are able to work out much better! Take care of yourself. xoxo

    Like

  2. Sounds like you have every right to roar and rage, when that many trying circumstances pile up at the same time. I’m thinking of you this week with all the test stress, and hoping some outdoor time is coming your way as soon as possible!

    Like

Tell me what you think...

