The SATS battle of Parent vs. Teacher in 1 body.

So, today I had a conversation with my mother in law about SATS. She is one of those grandparents that anyone would be blessed to have. The girls have grown up with her in their lives not just as the lady we visit, but as someone who actively looks after them each week (frankly, without Mr Geek’s parents & mine we wouldn’t be in a position to work!). Anyway, I digress.

She told me about a conversation she had with Beanpole about the year 6 SATS that start in a week. My 11 year old child described it this:

“It’s like banging your head against a wall again and again and again and again [making banging motions against her forehead with her palm]. I just want to wake up and it’s all over.”

image

As a mum, my heart broke. I’m meant to protect my offspring against shit like this. I’ve not protected her from.Ms Morgan. She’s got to my child with her long tendrils of testing.

As a teacher, I felt ashamed. How dare my profession allow a one woman army to make children feel like this? Bright, intelligent children who are left feeling like their entire worth rests on 1 week of exams. For the first time in my professional life, I’m not proud of what I do.

There are many parents removing their children from school tomorrow in protest. Except, they’ll just be tested on a different day. These parents are unlikely to get the backlash teachers don’t when they strike, they’ll likely get empathy from teachers, but just like striking, it won’t cause the current government to bat and eyelid.

So, as with all things inevitable like Sunday evenings ending too quickly & the resignation of Education Ministers, let’s just get this over and done with.

2 thoughts on “The SATS battle of Parent vs. Teacher in 1 body.

  1. Hate hate HATE the emphasis on testing. I’ve seen kids (and their parents) goaded into being worried sick about doing well for the sake of their school. Schools that have big assemblies to whip kids into a frenzy about getting high test scores. Special needs kids losing trust in their helpers, who are forced to administer inappropriate tests without any supports. Gifted kids forced to spend hours of class time reviewing the most basic of skills. Teachers forced to spend hours of instructional time teaching kids how to take tests. It bears no resemblance to education. It’s government wonks who have no earthly idea of pedagogy, trying to make some crappy, meaningless point.

    Like

Tell me what you think...

