A Wheelie Good Summer

I’ve not blogged for a while as I’ve been in a bit of a slump. The lack of outdoors has rather hit me this year & combined with missing my partner in crime and her tribe as the weather attempts to look vaguely like spring I’ve been having a bit of a pity party for 1.

Having always been a bit of an active family, finding myself sitting on the sidelines or being wheeled about on nice flat surfaces is immensely frustrating. And welcome to the conundrum that is knowing that I am immensely lucky to have Mr Geek to look after me whilst also being so frustrated at being left out & having no physical outlet for stress.

I’ve made peace with the idea of being in a wheelchair. My pelvis is shot & the nerve damage is clear. But the pain Management team gave me that tiny light at the end of the tunnel that with persistent physio there is the hope of improving my general pain levels and upper body. But ongoing physio isn’t a thing that’s on offer – it’s a case of being given ideas and doing it yourself. So off we went and found this!

Hiring was our initial thought, but with only a couple of places in the UK offering this, supply & demand means that prices are upwards of £125 ($180) per week. Erk! So, what about buying? …. an adult bike is usually a few hundred pounds…. oh. The curse of the disability markup strikes again.

So, what to do. Firstly, we start saving as much as we can. Secondly, my doctor has referred me to wheelchair services to ask for help with a manual rigid chair, and finally, swallow my pride & concerns and ask for help.

image

https://www.gofundme.com/294kw344

If you’re reading this, I’d be so grateful if you’d consider sharing either this blog, or my link.

As always.
Sending much love into the ether that is the internet 💕

One thought on “A Wheelie Good Summer

  1. Pingback: Pipe Dreams | the myasthenia kid

Tell me what you think...

