Stop Being Sick, You’re Making People Stressed

I feel like a bloody salmon at the minute. As soon as I get my shit back together and start swimming upstream, I get to the top to either fall back down again or be eaten by an opportunistic bear. I am using everything in my arsenal to hold it together mentally and not have a proper poor me pity party over losing my ability to get out of bed or make my own cup of tea. I’m not one for self pity, or pity of any kind. I find it boring, especially when it’s me that’s doing it.

image

Today we travelled back from Ireland – the sum total of 7 hours in planes & automobiles (no trains) and arrived home at 9pm spoonless and close to vomiting from pain.

Some months ago at my PIP interview, the guy who interviewed me turned solemly to Mr Geek and said “Watch her. She’ll put on a brave face then all of a sudden will hit rock bottom. Just watch her mental health.”. We shrugged it off.

Since being diagnosed, I have not mourned the loss of my physical capabilities outwardly. I’ve internalised it and it’s manifested in me not sleeping and I’ve subsequently grinched about it on here, but I’ve just got on with life because that’s what you do. I’ve not given up work, I’ve attempted to continue with life as normal, I’ve played down my pain levels whilst gently introducing everyone else to the idea that they need to live with a disabled person.

Occasionally, I am snappy with Mr Geek because he forgets that I can’t do something, or I ask him to do things for me to maintain this quality of “nothing is wrong” life. He is a good man & I lean on him. If anything, I snap at him to make sure the things that wind up other people in the house are done, or something for the kids. The things I personally want to do come much lower down the list, unless it’s pain related.

This evening, after yet another wonderful experience with people who claim to be accessible, I was not in the mood for a “you’re doing it wrong” conversation.

image

But I was treated to one anyway.

I was informed by my Dad that over the past 9 months of my getting ill, Mr Geek’s stress levels haven’t just doubled, or quadrupled, but multiplied infinitely and that that was because of me. He’d “noticed” that I was overly demanding of Mr Geek. The exact phrase used was “I couldn’t put up with what he deals with”.

I explained that it’s not easy to lose your independence & yes I know I snap sometimes, but it’s frustrating when you cant do things you once could. I was cut short and told “that’s not his problem, that’s your problem to deal with”. This was followed by the offer of help from him & my mum to sort out caring for me (having already said, under no circumstances do I want them doing that –  I’d prefer to have an outside carer. ).

Now I know he meant well & has Mr Geek’s state of mind at heart, but that little thread of sanity I’d retained just snapped.

image

So let’s all really say what we’re thinking shall we? Whilst we’re goibg for subtlety. You’re meant to get ill, go to the hospital and get treatment then get well again or die. Well, I’m not doing the latter so instead at best I’ve got another good 30 years of being in daily pain with more and more joints popping out and various organs prolapsing, & at worst add in my current GI & dysautonomia issues getting worse. That’s my whole lifetime again without sufficient drugs to mask the various lightening bolts and spasms, or eye-splitting headaches, then the possibility of tubes for food going and and out.

I try not to look at that big picture, because down that road lies maddness and a one way ticket to Switzerland.
This is much more manageable taken one day at a time with future plans being fuzzy in case they need to change. Taking small steps also allows for an inkling of hope that this might get better. One bad day can’t go on forever, or at least that’s my positive hippy dippy thinking.

image

I’m aware that this is just another one of those cycles that you go through after becoming ill, but having been raised to not have a healthy outlet for my anger, I get to sweep this under the carpet and trip over the lump.I know that it’s actually OK to rage over the injustice of losing the life that you imagined you were going to have. I also know you get over the raging and become a human being for the other 90% of life. I know that Mr Geek gets it and encourages the blogging because it is fucking infuriating not being able to do up your own arsing bra.

What this doesn’t stop though is my overwhelming urge to go to bed and not bother getting back up. If it’s my problem then I’ll stop trying to make it easier for everyone else and deal with it my way.

image

7 thoughts on “Stop Being Sick, You’re Making People Stressed

Tell me what you think...

