A Cracking Evening

There are few things as satisfying as laying down twisted on my bed, grabbing my hip and pulling my SI joint back into line with a noise in the hollow place between a crack and a thud. It’s a noise that is audible across the room and can be felt through the mattress by my poor long suffering Geek. It’s swiftly followed by tingling down both legs as the nerves adjust to this more natural spinal alignment, and for a while the Burning acid in my pelvis dulls. CRPS is under control, bit not always.

I’ve perfected this stretch from daily yanking my joints about. I know the relief that it brings, but I also know the claustrophobic pain that ensues when it doesn’t go back in.

Today was an insanely long day, and my plan was to come home and going straight to bed. However, instead of sleeping it off, painsomnia has kicked in. Rule one of painsomnia is to stretch And let everything crack out. Sometimes just relieving the pressure helps, but tonight, despite soundinhb like a bowl of rice crispies hasn’t helped. I’m out of options for more painkillers and am onto the “suck it up princess” method of coping. I’m clearly still shit at pacing.

image

I spent too long in my chair today, so my back is sore.*
I didn’t check my posture often enough and ended up leaning on the arm rest, so my shoulder is visibly out.
I ignored the pain and literally gritted my teeth, so my jaw hurts and is creating a TMJ headache.

I’m tired, so the palpitations are more pronounced. All I want to do is drift off and wake up without something trying to drop off.

I’m tired & frustrated. I’ve also worked nearly 24 hours so far this week (not including stuff I bring home) and its only Tuesday!

image

*”sore” translates to still causing yelping pain after dihydracodeine, gabapentin, and a shot of morphine.

9 thoughts on “A Cracking Evening

  1. Yikes, I’m sorry you’re having a rotten time. 😦 I wish there was just a tiny bit of magic in medicine to fix you, instead of throwing blinders over the symptoms. But hey, pain meds are great provided they actually do something.

    Like

Tell me what you think...

