I used to love you

I grew up with Harley Quinn as an icon. As a bit of a feminist, this doesn’t for too well as she was (is) the ultimate bunny boiler.

image

Intelligent woman tries being all independent, but ultimately loses her mind over a man (who fair enough did get her to kill him for messed up reasons). Then, like she had no chance at self esteem, falls in love with self obsessed, manipulative and abusive make up wearing man. That’s the joker btw.

I’m not entirely sure why she was my hero growing up when you put it like that. Oh yeah…. She’s hot, and slightly unhinged.

I present also exhibit B.

image

My taste in women is questionable at best.

So, somehow I was miffed to find Mr Geek salivating at DC’s latest incarnation of Miss Quinn. It took me a bit of head churning to work out the two themes of why I’m not keen on this one.

image

1. She’s not even pretending to be the proper Harley Quinn overtly tits in your face sexy with the severely mentally unhinged facade hiding the fatal Freudian flaw of requiring the Joker’s approval of her actions. The HQ of my comic years kicked ass, and spoke to my inner teenage girl, whereas this one appears to wiggle her ass in a girly, slightly unnervingly underagey way whilst kicking nothing but her cute shoes  (they are good shoes).

2. She’s hot. Mr Geek is right. And right now, I’m about as sexy as a vasectomy. Performed by Dr Zoidberg.
 

I’m a bit jealous…. and probably out to stick with Deadpool. He’s far more my style.

image

7 thoughts on “I used to love you

  1. Maybe I’m misreading, but is the feminist in you saying this Harley Quinn isn’t “tits in your face” enough? 🙂

    I never started reading comics till much later in life (a tragedy, I know!), and I’ve definitely never read anything about the Suicide Squad. How do the rest of them stack up so far, in your estimation?

    Like

    • I think the feminist in me ran far away into the distance with this one. I loved her in all her maniacle glory and she was overtly sexy in a very adult way – I wanted her to be a strong female lead, but her back story kinda kills that. The new one just seems to panda to the lolita idea, rather than the psychplopathic ball crusher she used to be.
      The suicide squad as a whole have a rather special place in my heart.

      Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think...

