Spoon Theory In Action – Ireland Part 1

Today was an utter write off. This is not a bad thing my lovely readers, I just needed some time to wait for my next set of spoons.

Some days are better than others and require fewer spoons for basic things than other days, but I’ll be as accurate as possible…

The past 4 days have gone as follows:

Wednesday:

Spoons = 20

Got up & dressed : -2 spoons

Tried to book gp appointment online & failed because their website sucks. Phoned surgery to begin for an emergency prescription as I’d calculated wrong and only had 3 days of painkillers left! : -3 spoons

Supervised kids whilst packing own clothes: -3 spoons

Helped Mr Geek return the hired wheelchair & picked up back brace and lunch : -3 spoons

Ate lunch & helped kids sort out their washing : -2 spoons

Picked up emergency prescription & drove to airport whilst running late as Mr Geek got stuck on a work call : -5 spoons

Airport & flying fiasco : -6 spoons

Late night chatting with my bestest of best friends : -2 spoons

End of day 1 spoon count: -6

Thursday

Spoons = 14

Taking painkillers late meant staying awake until 2am with painsomnia which instantly deducted spoons because I woke up tired. -3 spoons

Woke up giggling as Bambi “tiptoes” down the stairs hollering for everyone to be very quiet. I’ve missed that voice!

We’re in Omagh and Mr Geek was heading out with Mrs Gypsytree to get some breakfast for everyone. I shuffled out to the kitchen to be presented with coffee by Mr Gypsytree and generally be surrounded by the 7 kids that we have collectively produced : -2 spoons

image

Mr Gypsytree is about as close as having a brother gets for me. He is dry and pokes fun at me and attempts to come across as the big hairy man in my life, but has discreetly been my absolute saviour on a number of occasions. When he left for Ireland, I cried more than his wife did!

Breakfast returned with a shining example of why Mr Geek & Mrs Gypsytree shouldn’t be left unsupervised:

image

Yes. That is a Batman Onesie. Ffs.

I nibbled my way through a croissant that made me feel nauseous whilst we decided what to do that day: -2 spoons

We decided to let the kids play until after lunch then we’d go out to the memorial gardens and the park. The kids were totally happy to race around the house just being them whilst we chatted in the kitchen. My eyelids were stinging from overdoing it the day before and I had to fight hard to maintain focus whilst we chatted (There were a few occasions where the eyelid fairies were hanging off my eyelids and I needed to prop them open). We haven’t seen them in 3 months goddamit. I will enjoy this!
-4 spoons

After lunch we wrapped me up in my jumper and blanket, got the wheelchair out and headed out into Omagh. Our first stop was the memorial garden which was far more moving than I expected. Reading the names of all those people with a mirror created for each of them (including the unborn twins) just made my heart hurt.

image

By this point, I was cold. But the kids were still lively, so we carried on over to the park.
-4 spoons

The walk down to the park left me shivering (Northern Ireland is bloody freezing!), and yet the kids were happily parading around with our coats whilst I huddled under my shawl. The park was lovely and reminded me of the park that Mrs Gypsytree and I spent many damp summer holiday afternoons having car picnics at back home.

image

I’ll hand it to Ireland – they really know how to do Autumn, and who wouldn’t want to be happy for these two:

image

Eventually, the kids started showing signs that dinner would be appreciated and so we gathered the masses and started the wander (push) back home.
-3 spoons

Back at the house, pizzas for the kids were put in the oven and the menfolk were sent out to hunt for dinner (in Asda). Mrs Gypsytree provided sustenance to each child who promptly plonked their exhausted bottoms in front of a film whilst the adults pottered. This included me warming my various extremities on the radiator. (I was expecting to meet a polar bear at any point).
– 2 spoons

Kids weren’t so much put to bed as asked to go as it was kiddie Sleepover time, and they wanted to sleep!

The rest of our evening was spent eating baked camembert, bread & brisket (totally FODMAP friendly) and playing either Exploding Kittens or Adventure Time Munchkin.

image

Some parts of our friendship never change. Time flies and before we knew it, bedtime had hurtled past us.
-4 spoons

End of day 2 spoon count: -10

…. to be continued 😉

3 thoughts on “Spoon Theory In Action – Ireland Part 1

  1. Pingback: Spoon Theory In Action – Ireland Part 2 | The Hippy Geek

Tell me what you think...

