Writing a Thing in November… But Starting Early Chapter 1 Sneaky Peek

A few years back I attempted the nanowri..thingy… (NaNoWriMo) where you try to write an insane amount of words in a month alongside your standard job, social stuff and life. I failed with the dismal failure of anyone attempting to fit in an extra 50’000 words in 30 days who also teaches and hurts their fingers when they type too much (ha! The irony of my blog).

Ever since, its been bugging me that I never did get around to writing anything more interesting than a book on programming, and recently I’ve had some lovely comments about my blog. So… I decided to create something. I suck at fiction, I just don’t have the creativity for it and on top of that, I can’t keep up with someone else’s plot let alone my own. So instead I’ve decided to make use of my current glut of inner monologue that’s making it online, gather up my research and write a book about EDS. Not a preachy self help book, not a lengthy medical journal, but a slightly helpful whilst attempting dry humour type of book. When I was pregnant with Beanpole, the best book I had was one written by someone who came across as terrified and clueless as I felt and yet provided me some hints as to where to look for proper information and reassured me that being crap at pregnancy was not unusual. I’d love to have a book to walk me through dealing with this diagnosis from someone who can simultaneously laugh about their toe trying to fall off and assure me that the pain I’m feeling is actually ok. And as I’m breaking all of the NaNoWriMo rules, I’m setting my own time limits and will self publish.

The idea came to me on the way home from work a few weeks ago. There is so much stuff to learn about EDS when you get a diagnosis, and the places to learn it from are either a bit vague or terrifyingly high brow. Frankly, I’m on too many painkillers to cope with anything more than a pop up book…. hang on… we’re onto something here…

Ladies and Gentlemen, may I introduce: “The Ehlers Danlos Pop Out Book”

Well it made me laugh. And I’m allowed to be cheesy, it’s my book. I’d genuinely love it to be an actual pop up book, but apparently, unless you can fund a full 10’000 copy print run and get them shipped in from China, there’s little hope of that happening.

I’m not putting all of the insides on here, but I thought that each time I completed a chapter, I’d reward myself my publishing a sneaky peek on here for you to see. Chapters aren’t actually being written in any form of order. Instead, I’m picking up a topic as and when I either find some interesting research or my own symptoms flare.

So Sneaky Peek 1 is here, and it’s all about poop πŸ˜‰

If you’re a parent, ask yourself, “When did I last have a conversation with my child(ren) about how often they should poo and what it should look like?”. I’m not talking about the “oh hell, get your hand OUT of your nappy! No! Not on the wall!!”, conversation, but a how to keep yourself healthy talk. Chances are, either not at all, or only if they were ill. And yet, as we get older, we are meant to be on the lookout for any signs of unusual activity. Most of us are woefully ill prepared for adult pooping habits.

So it came as a bit of a shock to me, once I started researching more about this zebra that it actually isn’t normal to not poop for days. Most people don’t feel constipated at least once a week. It isn’t normal for bouts of constipation to be relieved by a day of mega diarrhea. Not pooping for a week is a bad thing. I’m 35. This info could have been rather useful at… Ooh I don’t know… age 10?

I promise there is more than 2 paragraphs to this. Honest!

643 / 10000 words.
6% done.

Tell me what you think...

