I Love You Guys

One of my kids today looked into how much a dev who can use the variety  languages I teach can earn and flat out asked me in front of the whole class “Miss, why the hell are you killing yourself teaching us and not out there earning this kind of money?”.

I don’t need to think about this much. I love programming,  I love the development cycle, I love battling the code. I can also say with a fair amount of certainty that I know my shit.

My answer : “Look around you. You guys are worth way more than an impressive pay cheque. ”

They may drive me bat shit crazy some days, but there is nothing like seeing a kid suddenly get coding and suddenly their mind is blown.

image

This is one of the biggest reasons that as I get slower and more wobbly,  I go into utter and absolute denial about not being able to work.

Tell me what you think...

