Taking Care of Myself

The last thing I want to do when I get home from work, especially when I’m wobbly & in pain is cook. I like baking, I’m not so keen on cooking real food.

But in true British style, this is one of my top go to dinners when the fridge looks a bit bare & I need something that isn’t takeaway. Let’s be honest, take out is more comfort than actual food.

So here it is, Bubble & Squeak : Slacker Edition

Chop & peel the potatoes the shove in a large pan of water with the veg (sprouts are key and must be included). Boil the living crap out of them until soft or the ad break in NCIS.

image

When they’re done, use scissors to cut the bacon into bits and fry in a large frying pan. Add enough oil to cover the bottom of the pan and ignore the calories that you just added.

Spoon in the cooked potatoes and veg and mash with a fork until it’s mushy.
Keep frying as the bit underneath brown (These are gooooood). I used a wok, but that’s only because we don’t have a decent frying pan. I also promise that it tastes a lot better than it looks!

image

If you’re feeling extravagant,  poach an egg to put on top of your bubble & squeak. (This is actually worth the effort if you can get it just runny). Mr Geek does this bit as I suck at cooking eggs. Then top it with salad cream.

Salad cream is instead of hollandaise, which is far too difficult to be arsing about with when your bones hurt. That and it tastes nice.

Cue instagram style photo with an out of focus plate in the background. ..

image

Calories: unknown (best not to think about it)
Time standing: 10 minutes (15 tops)
Cooking time: 20 minutes ish
No. Of your 5 a day: nearly all of them 🙂

If I thought about it,  much of this could be pre-prepared and frozen. That would of course require organisation and a lack of emotional eating on my part.

6 thoughts on “Taking Care of Myself

  1. Awesome! I’ve always wanted to try bubble & squeak but never bothered to look up a recipe. With a tiny bit of modification (as in frying it in two separate pans) this will work for our vegan daughter, too. I, myself, want the bacon. All of it. And the egg.

    Like

  2. I love me some bubble and squeak but it’s been ages since I’ve made it. It will go on the list of possible dinners for next week. My favourite nothing is there meal is fried rice or toad in the hole (Yorkshire puddings with sausage) and mash veges.

    Like

Tell me what you think...

