Same thing we do everyday, try to take over the world

I read an interesting blog today from someone who is equally struggling with the idea that a single genetic mutation has royally buggered up her plans. It’s a funny idea that you’re not going to take over the world anymore.

image

Except that actually, I am. Just not in the way I’d thought. I’m not sure how things will pan out & I don’t think it’ll ever be how I’d planned it.

Last academic year ended with me dragging myself around in a big ball of pain. I started the summer feeling so much better, then bombed. And each time I bomb, I go a little bit further downhill.  But despite that I’m still trying to take over the world. But it’s so bloody tiring.

image

So, somehow despite reading up on spoon theory, apparently I can’t count. All spoons were used by 1.30, but I still had another class and a duty to go. By the time I fell into bed and inhaled more painkillers, I ran out of all cutlery. I am the Uri Geller of spoon theory, except I’m not bending them, I’m screwing them up and throwing them at my life.

I’ve used up my spoons and everyone else’s spoons. I have spoon debt. And what feels like shards of glass in my hip, back, hands and knees that codeine isn’t touching despite mushing my brain up.

So basically, I started the day as The Brain and I’m ending it as Pinky.

image

2 thoughts on “Same thing we do everyday, try to take over the world

  1. I actually laughed out loud! This is one of my all time favourite cartoons and I feel your pain. I am off to work now for a meeting and aiming as always to take over the world. But now I’m trying to take over the world with spoons. I wonder what Brain would have planned if his only resources was spoons?

    Like

Tell me what you think...

