Head, Shoulders, Knees & Toes… All Hurt.

Day 1 of Roboleg at school seemed to go quite well. The cracking was significantly reduced and we’re down to an ache rather than hot needles behind the kneecap. Now THAT is an improvement! OK,  because 6th form aren’t back until tomorrow,  I only had 1 lesson, but that’s not the point!

The point is that I’m actually quite angry that I can’t skip about like a loony. And despite using a stick or crutches almost every day recently and genuinely considering buying a wheelchair to keep me going during conferences, I do not want to say the D word yet. I’m angry that I can’t just stiff upper lip this one. One lesson and 4 periods of prep and planning, then a spreadsheet fuelled meeting and I had just about enough spoons to poke a saucepan of dinner. The kids went to bed at 7.30 …. and so did I. My knee is good, but my back burns, my shoulder is frozen (That’s a new one) & my hands are throbbing.  I’m shot to pieces by a light day, and slightly worried how I’m going to handle a full 5 period day plus after school stuff.

I’m now using my blog as a ranty space and I know that, but arrrrgh I wish someone would either tell me how to get through a normal day without ending it tied up in wobbly knots, or no, actually just that.

Anyway, I googled feeling like a complete fraud using wheels and came across this.

image

Now all I need to do is believe it.

3 thoughts on “Head, Shoulders, Knees & Toes… All Hurt.

  1. I know the feeling. I’m in love with your flow chart! Currently planning my day with rest times between jobs but teaching doesn’t come with down time even after the bell at 3pm. Hope tomorrow brings you more spoons.

    Like

  2. Love the flow chart! This has been me on several occasions but I usually push through it knowing I will feel better after I excercise! I use to use a wheelchair daily, now I excercise for pain management. Self care is really important though. I wish we could lend spoons, I’d give you a few of mine!

    Like

Tell me what you think...

