Why My Husband Is Not Allowed To Die Before Me

Obviously, this is a bit of a weird & morbid thought, but I’m pretty sure I’m allowed to think this. We’ve been together for over a decade now and he’s put up with some crap in that time. But this evening I had a weird thought…

… I’d just got out of the bath & was feeling a bit achey & sorry for myself so asked him to help me dry my hair. As we sat in my wardrobe, he brushed my hair as it dried into just the style that I like it. I watched him in the mirror & thought “when I’m old and go a bit doolally, I wonder if him still doing this will be what makes me remember us and smile”.

Now I appear to be making the assumption that I’ll be the one to go dotty. But working on previous experience, it’s more likely.

20140921-212344.jpg

Note: This isn’t him btw… It’s a Fuggler version of him. It’s the hum teeth embodiment of him though.

But in the words of Pooh Bear. If you live to be 100 years old, I hope I live to 99 years & 364 days so I never have to live without you.

4 thoughts on “Why My Husband Is Not Allowed To Die Before Me

  1. See I just think about when D dies and wonder if (after my first few years of devastating heartbreak) there’ll be any cute octogenarians hanging around at that I could give a whirl.

    And I’ve already told Dad he needs to die first. I just couldn’t cope with him if Mum went.
    Even my Nan (when my Mum told her that she’d like her and Gag to die together) said that’s not fair, she had quite a few plans for once he’d popped off!

    You’re clearly far more romantic than me (or, in fact, the entire female line of my family!)

    Like

Tell me what you think...

