Will you still need me? Will you still feed me (apple cake)? When I’m 68?

After a blazing row with my father over how teachers are self important ****s who are only striking because they feel they deserve more than everybody else and don’t live in the ‘real world’ (Look! Look how proud he is of his daughter getting a degree, finding a stable job and making a difference to people’s lives! Just look. Oh. Never mind), I genuinely don’t have the energy to argue my point anymore. However, I found massive solace in this lovely lady’s blog post who spent her day making cake. Cake is good. I ate cake today. However, I did spend rather a large percentage of the day getting through a pile of planning and marking. BUT, that does mean I don’t have to do as much this weekend which means I can spend some time taking my kids out for a proper walk in the woods.

Today I have mostly been catching up on Sky 1’s ‘The Face’ and making an apple and cinnamon sponge cake but more about that later.

You may ask yourself ‘How does a teacher have time to do such things on a school day?’…the answer to this my friends is….I’m on strike! I must admit, it has taken all of my moral strength to refrain from catching up on school work and stay in front of the T.V. today as I have been ‘directed’ not to do anything ‘school’ related, but, shockingly, however charming Naomi Campbell et al are, they are not the reason I chose to remain home today.

I love teaching and get up every morning looking forward to going into school and doing one of the most amazing jobs in the world but to teach is a bit like being a wedding photographer…everyone thinks it is easy…

View original post 700 more words

One thought on “Will you still need me? Will you still feed me (apple cake)? When I’m 68?

Tell me what you think...

