I like jumping and custard

I’m not even going to entertain the idea of reacting to Micheal Gove’s latest vile rhetoric. Testing at age five? Considering a pupil’s self esteem is just an excuse for not teaching them to add up? Suffice to say reading this made me wonder how the man hasn’t been demoted (or lynched). I envisage a future where he becomes the mad relative that the Tories keep locked away somewhere to save them more embarrassment.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/education/educationnews/10302249/Start-schooling-later-than-age-five-say-experts.html

There’s something nasty in the woodshed.

Back to the lighter side of life, I commenced A Level teaching with a new group today. Now I know that I get a little bit overexcited when it comes to installing a love of all things nerdy, codey and hardware, but the two comments I got today really do show the polarized reactions that teaching IT and computer science gets:

From a year 9 (to me in their first lesson where I introduced Python in command line): ‘This coding is brilliant! You must love teaching it.’ Yes, I do. And the fact you’re enjoying it makes it that much more rewarding.

From a year 12 (whispered to a friend while I was enthusing about input devices): “she’s weird!” Indeed I am. Weird isn’t a bad thing. Weird meant I threw myself into computing and learnt stuff I never dreamt I could do. Weird is unique. Bill Gates was (is) weird, Steve Wozniak was (is) weird, Ada Lovelace was definitely weird. I’m in good company.

Tell me what you think...

