Talk to Your Inner Teenager About Art in August

I’ve been following another blog who sent out a request to fellow bloggers to guiltily say hello to their inner child and do some Art in August. You should check out her blog here. The idea is you hijack your kid’s art things, or dig out your own and just be creative. It doesn’t have to be good, it just has to be ‘you’.

I’m not one to refuse a challenge and in between trying to work out these socks, I decided to spend some proper time with the kids. Rather than just setting up the paints and letting them go, I sat down with them and painted too!

It all started yesterday…. (cue wobbly visuals and iffy music)

While we were at the beach, my friend Catherine suggested that each of her children collect a single pebble to take home as a momento. I followed suit and each of us selected a single pebble. And today I found a new use for my Warhammer paints (the guy at the ‘hobbit shop’ would have a fit!). It started off with the cool stone I found…

20130809-191402.jpg

Once washed, I covered it in a base colour. And gazed at it for a while. What or who do you look like?
In my head I’m having conversations with my 12 yr old self who is demanding that this be a zombie. But I’m being a frog right now, I argue back…

20130809-191422.jpg

In the background we had Paranorman on the TV, and all of a sudden it got a bit Tim Burton in my head. Fine, we’ll compromise. It’ll be a zombie frog. I call this piece “Frog Zombie – Partied Hard”.

20130809-191447.jpg

So there’s my first bit of art in August. I got the paints out and painted a stone with the kids. They painted hearts and flowers (and themselves, and the table) and I painted a zombie frog. I’d say I was still pretty much fully in touch with my teenage self.

Oh, and after yesterday’s I’m really old crisis, the red hair is back with avengance – I put make up on (although I’m not ready to dig out the foundation just yet). And to prove it, here’s an appalling MySpace/duck face style photo!

20130809-191509.jpg

… And just to finish the evening off properly, I finished the second attempt at the sock and it worked! I made a sock! I just need to make the other one 🙂

20130809-192233.jpg

6 thoughts on “Talk to Your Inner Teenager About Art in August

  1. I’m so excited that you’re joining in! And your description is so spot on – you get exactly where I’m coming from. I love the zombie frog, but it did give me pause for thought: do zombie frogs go hunting for human or frog brains? You see, it’s questions like these that keep me awake at four in the morning…

    Like

  2. Hi Ruby, I’m thinking of doing a wrap-up post for Art in August (I know, it’s October – so embarrassing!). I was thinking, it would look nice if I chose an art work from each participant and made a nine-panel mosaic of the pictures (not sure yet how to do this, but I’m willing to give it a try!)

    I want to check first that I have your permission to reproduce one of your images on my blog. I will rig it so that clicking on the image will take the reader to this post (if I can work out how!).

    Let me know what you think,. If you don’t manage to get back to me, I will assume all is well and post away, though I will take it down as soon as you ask me, of course!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Art in August – A Wrap Up | Laptop on the Ironing Board

Tell me what you think...

