How The Internet Made Me Crunchy

Ok, I had to look this one up on google after I kept reading it in comments and blogs. What is crunchy? Am I crunchy? Do I want to be crunchy?

1. Crunchy means to have altered your lifestyle in order to be more environmentally conscious. It comes from the mocking term used for people who made their own granola. Those hippies who were a bit ‘crunchy’.

2. I think I am a little bit crunchy, yes. I think I’m best described in my hippiness as ‘could do better’.

3. Yes, then. I think I do want to be crunchy.

Actually, it’s the Internet, and specifically other people’s blogs that have let me be a bit crunchier this year. Take this week for instance – I’m working my way through the stuff we bought at the PYO farm. Today’s mission, cook some kohlrabi that was grown less than a few miles from our house..

Before this week, I didn’t have a clue what kohlrabi was, let alone how to cook it and frankly, my mum’s 1970s good housekeeping books were less than helpful. But the lovely Reluctant Hippy posted a link to her blog and low and behold, it sounded delicious.

So we chopped it up into cubes…

20130808-174558.jpg

And I got TinyPants in on the action with her making sure all the oil and garlic was well and truly coating the stuff.

20130808-174705.jpg

We used cheddar instead of parmesan as we’d run out, and served it with pork loins baked with coriander, roasted cubed potatoes and peas the whole family was bowled over by how good this tasted! Clean plates all round 🙂

20130808-192414.jpg

I’m not likely to move into a yurt and milk goats any time soon (although that would be a great way to spend a summer), but I am looking closely at what we eat, and what we wear and am getting a little more vocal about my objections to fracking, but that’s a whole other post.

4 thoughts on “How The Internet Made Me Crunchy

    • I’d love a goat. It’s just not practical!
      It tastes like the stalk bit of a cauliflower, only a bit denser. It’s surprisingly tasty. I don’t know how we haven’t had it before.

      Like

Tell me what you think...

