Everything Else in Life is Simple… When you’re knitting socks.

This morning started with frogging my sock attempt back to the heel after I didn’t read the pattern properly. It looks weird. Not socklike….

20130807-163057.jpg

Ah well, it’s my first attempt at a sock. It can’t all be plain sailing – after all I turned the heel with relative ease…

So this morning we packed up some sandwiches and water and headed out to our town’s children’s Playday. I was a bit dubious at first as it all seemed to be aimed at tiny children, but we soon met up with friends.

20130807-163335.jpg

They’d had the excellent idea of throwing a load of cardboard boxes, tyres and tale into a pile and just letting the kids imaginations go. I assure you, this was a planned event at a park – we’re not resorting to letting them play in landfill. Yet.

20130807-163703.jpg

I’m not sure what’s going on here, but they were having fun!

We ended up spending hours just relaxing there with friends, and eventually we stocked up on candy floss and walked the few miles back home, chatting all the way.

20130807-163837.jpg

We even got in some general investigate the village type stuff. I say investigate, it went along the lines of:
TinyPants : us this house old?
Me: yes, that one was built in…
TinyPants : what about this one?
Me: yes.
TinyPants : what about this one? And this one? This one? And this……

20130807-193204.jpg

This evening, after keeping on with the pattern and generally getting more frustrated at my children’s inability to stop talking, or making weird noises for more than ten seconds, I realized I’d have to admit defeat with this sock. It bears no resemblance to a normal foot. If my child’s foot was weird and deformed and wider than her ankle, then yes, this sock would be a success. Otherwise it needs to be consigned to the heap of ‘bad’ projects and I need to start again.

20130807-192148.jpg

I don’t like admitting defeat, so I’m not defeated, I’m just rearranging the stitches from the beginning now I sort of understand the terms used in the pattern.

Hate you sock. Stoopid sock.

Tell me what you think...

