Only Mad Dogs & Englishmen

Eventually I will get round to writing a proper blog post. I’ve been meaning to for days, but there’s always something else to do, like swim in the pool or read my book, or yell at the kids when they splash water on me…

However, I have realised that I am picking up the language. We have been to a market, out for dinner and even talked to locals (including asking if people have maps and where we were! Oops). And using the things I learnt before we arrived, I’m combining the new words I’m learning and actually being understood (even if I am recognised as English as soon as I speak!).

One thing I will say though is that I am thoroughly unimpressed with the ex-pat community here. Valencia is a beautiful region and I am loving all the new sights, sounds and smells, but my goodness what is wrong with the English here? They’ve built whole plazas which only contain British (northern) style food, Irish pubs and created a stubborn attitude not to use the native language (suffice to say, we are avoiding those areas where we can).

I will do a proper ‘how amazing is it here’ blog soon, but the sun is calling and I have an argument with a map planned!

20130705-140751.jpg

4 thoughts on “Only Mad Dogs & Englishmen

Tell me what you think...

