#fiveminutefriday Imagine

The premise is simple: We write for five minutes flat. All on the same prompt that is post on the Lisa Jo Barker’s site at 1 minute past midnight EST ever Friday. And we connect on Twitter with the hashtag #FiveMinuteFriday

No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation.
Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

This week: Imagine.

Go.

Imagine if I didn’t make weird noises when I sat down, or got up, or bent forward. Imagine what it would be like to turn over in bed and not have to do it in stages and occasionally bash my hip a bit to keep it going.

I’ll admit, I quite fancy a daily routine where I’m not thinking ‘f*** it, how much worse can I make my back anyway?’. But it’s that exact question that makes me who I am (for those out of the loop, that would be a bloody minded fool). Ok, so on occasions I rely on some nifty opiates to take a bit of a pain vacation, and other days I’m as right as rain. But life is for living. Just imagine what life would be like if we spent all our time trying to avoid pain – we’d do nothing! We’d try nothing! We’d take no risks. And taking a risk can often lead to longer term happiness. On the flip side, it can also lead to temporary pain. But a lack of action just makes us dull and depressed.

Will I try new things? Yes. Having broken bones, dislocated things that should definitely be located, and got through two ‘interesting’ births (another time), I know my pain threshold well. I can break stuff and deal with it, I do not cope well with having a baby’s head rammed into my pelvis repeatedly by ridiculous drugs (the kid wasn’t impressed either).

I’m not one for positive thinking. Imagine the worst, and hope for the best. That way you’re at least prepared when you fall on your arse and you’ll have the common sense to check each body part for damage and deal with whatever flies at you.

Stop.

4 thoughts on “#fiveminutefriday Imagine

  1. It sounds like you’ve been through a lot, but I am glad to see you have a sense of humor intact! And I agree – life is for living! And avoiding all pain is no way to live. Pain makes us real! Thanks for sharing! – Your FMF friend

    Like

  2. This made me smile. If we can’t laugh, what do we have? I’m right there with you on the aches and pains and things that don’t work right any longer. Maybe different issues than you, but they’re my issues. So I’ll buck up too and we’ll just keep going, yes? And enjoy those great moments of life. As for the rest … eh. We’ll deal with them. Good post!

    Like

  3. Sounds like life is throwing a few lemons your way. I broke my arm and dislocated it several months ago. It is taking a long time to heal. I am just grateful that it wasn’t my leg!! (Or my head!). Just remember, no matter how bad things get, we really are never alone. I hope you are feeling better soon.

    Like

  4. I ought to clarify that it wasn’t a complaint. The general theme was, yes my back is buggered, but it could be a lot worse and it won’t stop me from living.

    Like

Tell me what you think...

