#fiveminutefriday The ‘comfort’ of old friends

The premise is simple: We write for five minutes flat. All on the same prompt that is post on the Lisa Jo Barker’s site at 1 minute past midnight EST ever Friday. And we connect on Twitter with the hashtag #FiveMinuteFriday

No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation.
Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

This week: Comfort.

Go.

Let me introduce you to a bygone age. A time where we were discovering the world, allowed to roam free without the hysteria of evil people lurking around every corner to steal us.

This was not decades ago. Actually, I suppose it was now. This was the early 90’s and this is my friend (I’m the one with the dodgy dyed blonde hair). We were 14 there.

20130510-124811.jpg

We were appalling teenagers and behaved like, well, like horrible teenagers I suppose. Some of the choices we made were more than dubious. Some were downright dangerous. I now teach kids this age and I’d have a few words for that younger me!

But looking back on this from a 33 yr old perspective, the things I remember most clearly are that from the minute she and I met at the age of 7 (the age TinyPants is now!), we were friends. We knew everything about each other and despite our young years we cared about the other with empathy that was unusual for children. Years later, we remain in touch even though our lives have taken different paths and we’ve rarely spoken face to face in more than a decade.

Our friendship may not always have been easy, but when my girls look back with their adult eyes, I hope they smile warmly and are comforted by the memory of that friend who, despite everything made your days a bit brighter.

END

2 thoughts on “#fiveminutefriday The ‘comfort’ of old friends

  1. I have a friend like this, too. We’ve definitely been all over the place, walking different paths.
    We turned 50 this year—within just a couple of weeks of each other. My friend, Bren’ hunted down my phone number a dozen or so years ago. These days we talk every two or three weeks. We still live different lives.
    But we’re anchored in a love that was unusual for young girls. I was pretty mean to her in early high school. I’m ashamed of betraying her in that switch-friends-betray-friend insecure world of jr./sr. high. She has been kind and let that slip away, replacing it with a devotion that I don’t deserve, but do cherish.

    Thanks for your post. We are both fortunate to have grown up when we could be freer and the things lurking in the shadows were mere things of imagination and movie screens.

    Like

Tell me what you think...

