The (not a) Review of Catherine Bulling of @GypsyTreePhoto

This is my friend Catherine. Oh, and her husband. (There is a point to my post, I promise!)

20130408-202341.jpg

This is nearly her whole family.

20130408-202441.jpg

This is their latest addition (and you know what, I don’t reckon that she’ll be the youngest forever).

20130408-202520.jpg

Frankly, the idea of five children scares me, but she does it annoyingly well and is also holding down a creatively demanding job too! She’s the owner of The GypsyTree Photography. And it’s here, that I’m going to shamelessly promote her work. This isn’t a review, I am hugely biased. She is a wonderful friend and she and her husband are Godparents to my tiny people. But I do love (and mildly envy) her work. But I cannot claim to be an objective observer, but you can.

Catherine is “an award winning newborn photographer based in Sussex, UK” and she’s not shabby when it comes to sympathetic portrait work either. I don’t often post promoting stuff, but after an unconnected friend of mine came back from a shoot with Catherine earlier today raving about her, I thought some extra word of mouth was in order. And I’m proud of my friend.

So here’s some stuff I’ve learnt about her since we’ve been friends along with some examples of her work.

1. We’ve decided our kids were destined for each other since birth.

20130408-203155.jpg

2. She crotchets the most amazing hats. Then sticks them on babies (her prop cabinet is amazing).

20130408-203312.jpg

3. Her ability to recreate the world as we saw it through child’s eyes is baffling.

20130408-203531.jpg

4. There is no container that she won’t put a baby in (if it fits… And it’s safe!)
(I knitted those trousers!)

20130408-203750.jpg

5. She’s brave enough to work with children AND animals. Some might argue that this is one and the same.

20130408-203915.jpg

6. She puts questionable head gear on babies, but they never seem to mind…

20130408-204212.jpg

7. Some of the smiles she captures are just unfathomable.

20130408-204429.jpg

8. Her house is full of photography props, school photo prints, mounts and a husband who is set to work when he gets home!

20130408-204806.jpg

9. She can make some of the most active kids stay still just long enough to capture their perfect little personalities forever.

20130408-204936.jpg

10. I love her work. But I don’t need to convince you – it’s all here for you to make your own mind up!

20130408-205039.jpg

You can visit her website and read her blog at http://www.thegypsytree.co.uk (although I’m guessing you noticed that from the photos! Or you can view lots more of her work and catch up with her on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/TheGypsyTree

2 thoughts on “The (not a) Review of Catherine Bulling of @GypsyTreePhoto

Tell me what you think...

