#FiveMinuteFriday – After

We love to just write without worrying if it’s just right or not. For five minutes flat.

Here’s how we do it:

Go to Lisa Jo Baker’s Blog

1. Write for 5 minutes flat on the prompt “After” with no editing, tweaking or self critiquing.

2. Link back here and invite others to join in.

3. Go and tell the person who linked up before you what their words meant to you. Every writer longs to feel heard.

This week’s prompt: “after”

GO
We plan so much ahead, that often we forget to enjoy now. Life is a series of decisions, often based on a balanced consideration of the impact of our actions. It’s only when we look back on something that we regret not basking in the joy of the moment. But if you are fully engaged, when looking back after the event, the memories are so much more vivid.

But what if we stopped obsessing about what might happen, accept what has happened and base decisions on creating ongoing tranquility, or peace? What if we put past transgressions behind us? What is we stopped living fearful lives based on the possibility that someone might get hurt? (With a fractured elbow currently resting on a heat pad, I can conclude I wouldn’t change a thing – the memory of those precious few moments roller skating with TinyPants will last years, my elbow will heal).

What if we stopped planning for retirement and nurtured the next generation instead of hoarding everything away for ourselves? That way, if we do make it that far, we have financially stable offspring to take care of us (as happened in many previous generations).

Because after all is said and done, you could get run over by a bus tomorrow.

And if I do? Well, I’ve lived more vibrantly than ever the last few months and I regret very little.

STOP

20130405-231230.jpg

3 thoughts on “#FiveMinuteFriday – After

  1. I totally agree with your words, but I think it is difficult to do it.
    Congratulations for thinking like that! You will have an interesting life enjoy NOW!

    Like

  2. I love your thoughts. And I feel your pain. I fell on ice and cracked my radial head a few years ago. Thankfully, it was my left elbow and I’m right-handed. I was thankful I homechool, too, since my kiddos were a big help!

    Visiting via FMF.

    Blessings,
    Selena

    Like

Tell me what you think...

