Dude, where’s my anxiety? #ImAHappster

I love the Happster movement (if you’ve not come across them, visit http://www.happster.com – they’re like hipsters, only happier). The idea that you can make someone else’s day a bit cheerier, just appeals – especially when it’s a random stranger.

The other thing is an insight into how I can meander through life appreciating the hear and now. This weekend was lovely, and I’m left at the end with a sense of calm. Why? Because I’ve gone with the flow, and appreciated that there are certain things that allow me to feel peaceful:

1. Routine.
Everything we did this weekend was planned. Not to the letter, but I knew it was coming and I knew what to expect. I am most comfortable in the familiar.

2. Skating
It’s one of those things that removes about 17 years from my life and all of a sudden I am skating at full pelt playing tag with other parents and kids, all of whom are just having fun. We’re getting better and I can’t wait to swoosh my way down the seafront in the summer (if summer ever comes). Instead of thinking about all of the usual to do lists, you have to think about skating, if you don’t think about the here and now, you fall on your bum. I don’t want to fall on my bum – I run a very real risk of knocking my pelvis back out and no one wants that again!

20130324-210127.jpg

3. Water
And by this I mean deep water aquafit. Not aquarobics where you bounce about waist height in water, but treading water in 12ft deep water whilst trying to do synchronized swimming moves, or in today’s case, the can can. I can wholly confirm that my Sunday evenings are hugely happier by the inclusion of a 45 minute attempt at not drowning. Partly due to the need to be focused on what I’m doing otherwise I will drown and as such, ending the weekend with a clear head; partly due to the endorphins from exercise; and partly due to the company of friends.

20130324-205151.jpg

4. Being crafty
At the moment, that equates to working on my crochet blanket. But this could be anything from knitting, to sewing, to sticking and making with the kids. Just seeing something that I’ve made grow and take shape (and I’m not including the kids in this – although I did technically make them….)

20130324-210430.jpg

5. Sleep
Nothing works better to lighten the general mood than sleeping well and for long enough. As the mornings are strong to get lighter, I am waking up in less of a fog and much more rested. I am designed to hibernate in this revolting dark winter weather. Frogs don’t like winter, it’s freezing my tadpoles. I need the sun to warm my blood. Or at least a heated blanket for my bed!

20130324-212415.jpg

Ribbit.

Tell me what you think...

